{Home} One Man’s Trash…

It’s a thing in New York to take something left on the side of the street if it interests you.  There have been a few times where something has caught my eye, but it wasn’t until recently that I actually acted on it.

I was out shopping and thru all the discarded Christmas trees, I saw someone had thrown out two large fake trees (and a few other smaller fake plants).  I’d been looking for a fake plant for awhile, having sworn off live plants when I moved to New York, but they’re kind of expensive!

(This is where there’d be a picture of the trees among the trash bags and other stuff, but I didn’t take a picture of that–sorry!)

Initially, I kept walking to finish my shopping, but also because literally taking someone’s trash on a very public street is weird and awkward!  With some support from my brother (via text), I decided to head back and take a second look.

There were two similar tall trees, and I tried to quickly choose which one I thought was better while a man on the next stoop watched.  Then I just grabbed one and started walking!

Of course, if it’s not captured in a Snapchat selfie, it didn’t happen 😉

img_7283

For the final act of my craziness, I carried the plant 15 blocks to my apartment on a very windy night.  The doorman laughed at me when I came in: “It’s bigger than you!”

img_7285

A few sprays of Lysol to clean it up, and it was ready to move in.  I’ll probably continue to play with the leaves to spread them out a bit (they have wires in them, so they’re easily malleable), but I’m already loving how much warmth it brings to an otherwise awkward and empty corner.

img_7286

One man’s trash really is another man’s treasure!  (And there are free things in New York!)

2 thoughts on “{Home} One Man’s Trash…”

  1. A Norfolk pine tree makes a plant that survives easily in an apartment. My mother was given a small one around 1993 , I still have it. It does well without sunlight and very little attention…lonly a cup or so of water a week. It is now a huge plant

    love and good luck, Granma…which brother did you email about it with?

Leave a Reply

