{Home} Space Race

One of the best things about living in a big city is that the resale opportunities and deals are endless.  I mostly furnished my last apartment from Craigslist, and it seems like the new additions to this apartment will be no different!

I was browsing for a new light for the dining area and kept stumbling on the Sputnik fixtures.  This light was a steal at $100 (with an extra box and a half of light bulbs), and I couldn’t forget it!  It turns out it’s also famous, as it was recently featured in an Apartment Therapy home tour.

sputnik light brass vintage

I had tried to install this light myself, but the electrical in my apartment is very old, so I asked the super to help.  He came over one morning and began to tinker with the wires.

The box needed a crossbar; luckily he had one in the basement.  He wrapped it in electrical tape so that it wouldn’t touch any of the exposed wires in the box.

img_7377

I didn’t take many other pictures of the process, as I helped him a little by holding the flashlight and handing him pieces.  The “white” neutral wires were cut so that they could be pushed farther into the box.  They got a new wire nut in place of the fabric electrical tape.  Some of the wires were exposed due to the decaying cotton wrapping, and they were wrapped in electrical tape to protect them.  Then it was just a matter of attaching the wires from the fixture to those in the box, screwing the fixture into the crossbar, and then adding light bulbs.

And just over an hour later it was finished!

sputnik light brass vintage dining area room

sputnik light brass vintage

sputnik light brass vintage dining area room

Two of the bulbs are burned out, but I was too excited to replace them quite yet.  The old fixture also had a bigger canopy/base, so the ceiling needs a little paint, but that should be easy enough.  In the mean time, you can find me gazing at it!

2 thoughts on “{Home} Space Race”

Leave a Reply

