{House} Second Time Around

After way too many hours of work, I had one support for the closet shelves installed.

img_7494

I checked the mark I had made the day before and then drilled the first hole for the second support.  I started with the top hole and then installed the second support and checked that it was still level with the first support.

img_7500

Once I was satisfied with the levelness of it, I marked the spots for the next three holes.  I had to slightly loosen the top screw to be able to drill the holes, but it worked out.

In case you didn’t believe me that I used my hands with the 1/2″ drill bit, here’s the proof!

img_7501

After the holes were drilled and the rest of the anchors and screws tightened, I fiddled with them a bit to ensure it was perfectly level.

img_7502

This is the shelving unit I’m using (though the supports are from MintCraft).  The going-out-of-business sale that I frequented didn’t have enough shelf supports in the size I wanted, so I ordered more online.

img_7503

I had also befriended someone in those last few days that was able to cut a longer shelf in half so I’d have enough shelves.  Like the true math major I was, I got the math wrong, and the two halves aren’t equal…

But it’s installed!  And it looks great!

diy install yourself shelves shelf closet kv mintcraft adjustable

As I was admiring it, it didn’t seem level with the existing rod and shelf.  Back out came the level to see where I went wrong.

Well look at that!  The original shelf isn’t close to level!

img_7506

Then it was time to actually use it!  I had a plastic set of drawers from my last apartment that I was looking to get rid of.  I put most of those things on this shelf, and also swapped some items with those in my dresser.

img_7515

I need a few bins for some smaller items, but I’m very excited for this addition!

1 thought on “{House} Second Time Around”

Leave a Reply

