{House} Hannah Loses Another Battle

For a friend: TLDR, don’t paint the doorknobs!

I alluded to the fact that the doorknobs in my apartment were painted with the walls and doors, and I decided to tackle them before I paint my apartment.  There are only four doors (three closets and one bathroom), so I thought this would be quick and simple.  Especially since this post made it seem so easy!  And it’s chemical-free, which is always a plus in my book.

Literally every part of it is painted.  The doorknob and plate…

…the latch…

…the strike plate…

…and the cute interior knob!

Because there’s so much paint all over them, the doors don’t close and latch.

Only one knob out of the bunch is unpainted–the inside of the bathroom.  It’s such a cool silver, I wanted the rest of the knobs to match!

I started with chipping away at the paint around the screws on the interior knob.  It was quite easy to remove the three screws on the inside!

Then I attacked the latch, and removed that plate.  It required some prying to get it free from the door.

But then I got stuck on the front.  I was able to remove the bottom screw, but the top screw wouldn’t budge.

I moved on to the screws on the knob itself.

Again, chipping away the paint was easy, but these screws wouldn’t move either!

So I’ve tried to remove one knob and failed.  Maybe I’ll settle for using a chemical stripper after all.

4 thoughts on “{House} Hannah Loses Another Battle”

Leave a Reply

