{House} What Wood You Do?

I have a pretty sweet deal at my company: working from home.  Basically however often I want, too.  Most of us spend Fridays working from home, and that’s what I was doing one day when I heard a lot of commotion down the hall.

I went to look, and noticed a huge cart full of bundles of hardwood floor.  More or less the same floor I have in my apartment!  The floors had been completely removed from the apartment.  (This makes me sad, because it is perfectly good flooring!  As my mom likes to say, “they don’t make things like they used to.”)

I asked the men what was happening with it, and it was all going to the garbage!  So sad!  I asked if I could take some, and they carried a few bundles to my door.

My apartment already has wood floor, so what do I need with more?  Well, let’s talk about the kitchen floor.

That picture is from the tiny closet near the stove.  The original wood floor is visible under the red tiles (interior of the closet), but it looks to be in poor condition (or at the very least, in need of a serious refinishing job).  The rest of the kitchen has the peach tiles below.

I believe these are the second layer of tiles on top of the original wood floor.  The threshold between the kitchen and dining area is kinda wonky as well.  In my grand kitchen renovation plans, I’m hoping to refinish the original wood floor underneath the tiles.  But given its possible condition, having wood floor that was installed in another apartment at the same time as my wood floor was installed in my apartment is huge!  And it was free too!

As I was looking at the bundles, I had to walk the fine line between having just enough and not having enough.  The good news is that I only really need to do half of the kitchen area, since what’s under the cabinets isn’t important.  The bad news is that I have to find a place in my small apartment to store it for a year until the kitchen gets renovated.

2 thoughts on “{House} What Wood You Do?”

Leave a Reply

