{Home} The Speed of Light

After living there for over forty years, my grandparents moved out of their house when I was in college.  I made trips down to their house to help my mom clean it out and take things back to keep.  On one of the trips, I noticed the chandelier they had hanging in their master bedroom, and asked if I could have it.  The next time my dad went down with my mom, they brought it back.

And it sat in that box for many more years, until I had a place to install it.  Which I now do!

It was heavily coated in dust and needed a good cleaning, so I got to work.  I took it out of the box, and quickly had a helper to investigate (that’s one of my parents’ cats).

I noticed how the crystals were attached to the fixture, so I could put them back in the correct place after everything was all cleaned.

Taking the crystals off was easy.  I took two yogurt cups and added warm soapy water to soak the crystals (I’m hesitant to use anything that will be used for food after cleaning projects like this, which is why I re-purposed the yogurt cups).

I used a microfiber cloth with the same warm soapy water to clean the fixture.

It took less than an hour to clean the whole thing.  It’s amazing the powers that soapy water have!

But there was still the issue that this is at my parents’ house, and I needed to get it back to New York.  So I carefully rolled up the crystals, and put them in a cloth bag to carry onto my flight back to the city.

Now all that’s left is to reassemble the light and install it!

1 thought on “{Home} The Speed of Light”

Leave a Reply

