{Hannah} Just the Tip

Before I moved to New York, I used to frequent the local cobbler and liked the work he did.  After a bad experience (or two) at a cobbler in NYC, I researched how to replace the heel tips on my shoes myself.  Turns out, doing it myself is much cheaper, quicker, and less damaging to my shoes!  Win win win!

Enter: a pair of basic black pumps in need of new tips…

…and a pair of vice grips.

It just takes a minute to adjust the vice grips to latch on to the tip and hold securely.

Then–using the minimal amount of upper body strength that I have–I pull really hard until the tip comes out.  Sometimes it helps to twist slightly to loosen the tip from the shoe.

For replacement tips, I like the Supertap tips from this retailer on ebay, as they’re $1 each (I buy them in packs of 10), come in various sizes and colors, and are rubber, which I think makes for a better heel tip than the plastic ones.

It’s hammer time!

Ta da!  Basically brand new shoes.

Now they are ready for another week of hard working and walking around town!

1 thought on “{Hannah} Just the Tip”

Leave a Reply

