{House} Stop, Drop, and Roll

Nope, nothing is on fire here, but I did stop, drop, and roll this weekend–with paint!  The entryway and dining area finally got painted!  After months of deliberation, I picked the color I liked the best all along: Benjamin Moore Apparition.  I had been afraid that it would be too dark, but these rooms have overhead light, which makes a big difference.

So I trekked the 7 blocks to the paint store, got two gallons of BM Aura paint in eggshell, and carried them back to my apartment.  Most of my other paint supplies are from the hardware store closeout sale back in December (which includes a roller, roller extender, roller cover in a thick nap, and a paint tray (sorry I forgot to take a picture before I got started–I was just too excited!)).  My cutting in brush was the same one I used on my door.

I had to stop to move the furniture into the living area, and then it was time to get started!

There was one last cord to nowhere that I removed before painting.  It’s the one on the right that goes over the door and down the side and was easily removed.

Cutting in took almost four hours!  The drop cloth ensured that I kept my floors mostly clean from stray paint, and the plastic sheet had quite a bit of paint on it by the end.

Then it was time to roll, which went much quicker!

The whole process was repeated the next day for the second coat.

And dragging my furniture back in was the best part!

benjamin moore 860 apparition gold brass sputnik red teal aqua turquoise

I was afraid that the color would be too dark, but it’s not dark at all.  A little moody and velvety smooth.  Also, the many imperfections on the walls aren’t as noticeable now that the walls are in a flatter finish (I think they were semigloss before).  It’s definitely warmed the space up, and made it feel more welcoming!

PS.  Thanks to my brother for the great post title!

 

3 thoughts on “{House} Stop, Drop, and Roll”

Leave a Reply

