{House} When Bad Things Happen to Good People

I don’t like bugs in my apartment. Not sure if anyone does, but it seems to freak me out more than it affects other people. Plus, I have the added difficulty that I refuse to kill bugs, which means I have to implement a “catch and release” program.

So it was very unfortunate when I was going to the bathroom late last night, and I saw a waterbug (commonly mistaken for a large roach, but a big gross bug is still a big gross bug in my book). I thought I could trap it in the bathroom, but a few minutes later I saw it wandering out into the middle of my living room. No way, Jose!

It took two attempts, but I was able to trap it under a plastic cup, with a half full (I’m optimistic) water bottle on top to weigh the cup down so it wouldn’t move.

The worst part is that the building’s exterminator comes into my apartment once a month to spray to prevent things like this from happening!

I texted the super about it this morning. Luckily, he’s nice and likes me, and he took care of it!

3 thoughts on “{House} When Bad Things Happen to Good People”

  1. the pool in the Porticos attracts waterbug…generally I ignore them except when they get into the pool…then I scoop them out. Once did not see one until it tried to bite me…I quickly tossed it out. Grandma. what did the super do about the bug?

    1. Eww! You’re much tougher than me tho!

      He killed it…we’ll talk to the exterminator about it when he comes in a few weeks. Plus, he suggested I patch up any holes or gaps in the bathroom, which I can do!

Leave a Reply

